Life

New year, New beginnings?

Happy New Year!

January 1st. The day when every person vows to be different, to change, to become a better version of themselves, only to give up around Jan 22nd and then spend the rest of the month eating the left over Christmas chocolates.

According to Wikipedia,” A New Year’s resolution is a commitment that a person makes to one or more personal goals, projects, or the reforming of a habit. A key element to a New Year’s resolution that sets it apart from other resolutions is that it is made in anticipation of the New Year and new beginnings. People committing themselves to a New Year’s resolution generally plan to do so for the whole following year. This lifestyle change is generally interpreted as advantageous.”*

Nowadays people decide to give up something like smoking, drinking, chocolate or start a new, slightly over ambitious, exercise plan. At the end of the 19th century, a typical teenage girl’s New Year’s resolution was focused on good works: she wanted to become less self-centered, more helpful and to improve her internal character. At the end of the 20th century, the typical teenage girl’s resolution is focused on good looks: she wants to improve her body, hairstyle, makeup, and clothing.*

This new year, I resolve to complete the full 90 days of Insanity. I want to do it because I know I am unfit, it’s fun and it’s something I’ve never finished before. I’ve attempted to complete it many times before, but something has always got in the way so I’ll miss a day, and then another and then it’s weeks before i try again. Insanity is high intensity workouts that last about 40 mins including warm up, stretches and cool downs. It has everything rolled in to a DVD. If you include a shower afterwards, (which trust me you need) it takes an hour out of my life each day. I don’t do any real regular exercise apart from walking, so I know my body isn’t as strong as it could be, and I find there are some things or find harder to do because of that.  Some days, I don’t like my body, I have ‘fat’ days and I feel insecure about how I look. Who doesn’t? But it’s never my main concern.

We have become so focused on our outer appearance. Like any other teenage girl, I went through that insecure phase and I didn’t like my body because it wasn’t how it was ‘suppose to look’ , it didn’t look like the pictures of the actresses and models. All the t.v ads about weight loss and cosmetic surgery, though not aimed at teens create an underlying feeling that, as we are, we are not good enough. Growing up the past few years, I’ve learnt how destructive media can be, and that as a society, there is an obsession with achieving a Hollywood figure. So much importance is placed on being thin but not so much on being healthy. It’s okay to eat chocolate. It’s true, chocolate isn’t bad for you. The emotional attachment you have and the dependence you place on to it is what is bad. That’s the bad habit to get rid of. One day of junk food won’t make you fat, just like one workout won’t make you lose weight. I think sometimes its harder for naturally slim girls than it is for bigger girls. Constantly being told to eat more, and being accused of being anorexic because you don’t seem to put on weight. The focus should be on becoming a smarter, stronger, happier, healthier you. If you want to be healthier, look first at what you eat, and then if you exercise. I bet we all pick up a packet of crisps for a snack instead of a piece of fruit, and get a bus or a lift to somewhere that’s only a 15 minute walk.

All these little things, are things you can change. You can’t change the way your body is built, but you change how you treat it and how you view it.

Here are some suggestions of healthier New Year’s resolutions:

  • Walk more
  • Try and eat the 5 a day of fruit and veg
  • Change any negativity about yourself
  • Appreciate your body
  • Smile more

Peace and Love,

Maria

*Information from Wikipedia can be found here

Leave a Reply

