Life · Thankful Tuesdays

Thundery Tuesdays

“Everyone complains about the weather, but nobody ever

does anything about it”

After the best weather I think the UK has had in years, the thunder is on its way along with some much needed rain. Hopefully all those who complained about it being too hot, will now be satisfied, or maybe not. In true British fashion it will now be too cold or too wet or something.
I think there’s something fantastic about a big, heavy thunder and lightening storm. It clears the air and the day after a big storm, wow. Most of the time its the best weather and everything feels new and fresh again. The last massive storm Newcastle had was in 2012. The whole city was flooded and even our famous bridge was struck by lightening! I hope it’s not that bad again but we are in need of rain. The grass isn’t looking greener on my side or the other.

Guess that’s God’s revenge for Geordie Shore…

♥On a not so weathery note… SARAH KAY HAS A NEW POEM!

It is an amazing feeling when you are a huge fan of someone, an artist, a musician or in my case, spoken word poet and you come across work of theirs you have never seen/heard before. Sarah Kay is a brilliant, magical beautiful spoken word poet and teacher from New York. She is also the founder and co-director of Project V.O.I.C.E. with Phil Kaye.

I have watched every single video on her website as well as on YouTube at least 10 times each. Her words are so powerful. The first poem I watched of Sarah’s was ‘B’, I completely fell in love with her voice and her way of writing and seeing the world. Fully versed in every performance, I was over the moon when I came across a new poem; The Type. Something about her voice, her stage presence makes you want to smile as well as cry. This poem is inspired by a line from “Detail of the Woods” by Richard Siken: “…Everyone needs a place. It shouldn’t be inside of someone else.”

Listening to any of her poems makes me feel so happy. I don’t think I could ever pick a favourite poem. She is a story teller. I would love to be able to tell stories the way she does. From fighting jellyfish in the summer on a beach to the simple act of holding hands she sees the world in a magical way.

Image From Pinterest

Peace and Love,

Maria

Leave a Reply

