Life · University

Picture fails & end of holidays

Well it think it’s fair to say that I failed the August Picture Challenge. I ended up becoming so busy with revision I didn’t have time to do it, as well as relying on rubbish 3G signal in my Sheffield house. Maybe I’ll try it again in September.
As of the 20th of August, 2013, I have officially finished my first year as a Sheffield student! All my resit exams are done, course work handed in and now I can enjoy the summery weather, yes? No. Of course, in true British fashion that hot weather has disappeared and been replaced by clouds, rain and thunder storms, all in time for me to celebrate, great(!). The past 3 weeks have been a mix of extreme stress, extreme weather and a blur of various books, essays and episodes of Gilmore Girls (my favourite US t.v show EVER!) A few friends came down from Newcastle to celebrate my final Level 1 exam. It was nice to have some human contact and company, I was close to pulling a ‘Cast Away‘ and creating my very own Wilson.

wilson

I’m home for about 2 weeks now before going back to start my 2nd year at university. It’s strange. I don’t really look or feel any different to the 19 year old, excited girl who arrived at Endcliffe student village a year ago but I am so grateful that i’ve managed to grow from that person. I don’t think I would have really done anything differently, maybe attended a few more society socials and probably tried to talk more to people I hadn’t met but overall, my first year went nothing like I’d envisioned, but I expected that.
My lovely pink camera, who is no longer with us, had a blast capturing the crazy antics of my flat E1, Millstone. As a way to celebrate the awesome time we had together, and also to remind us what actually happened on those crazy nights, here is a video I’ve been working on over the summer. Of course, the soundtrack is Taylor Swift, but I also thought the lyrics were appropriate:
“I left a note on the door with a joke we’d made,
And that was the first day.
And darling, it was good never looking down.
And right there where we stood was holy ground.”

I hope you like it 🙂

Peace and Love,

Maria

Leave a Reply

