Health · Life · Radical Self Love

What to do when you can’t do anything

It’s been a while since I posted, sorry about that. I’ve been crazy busy with moving back to Newcastle and revising for my exam next week (eek), my PoTS has also been playing up. I’ve had quite a few ‘incidents’ over the past week or so including a trip down the stairs and collapsing in Sainsburys supermarket. Over all it hasn’t been great. Today my blood pressure has been consistently on the low side,  measuring at 96/59 this morning and not really getting above 103/67. So no wonder I feel rubbish.
I thought I’d write this post to hopefully cheer myself up and help anyone else who is feeling a bit on the sad and low side today. I always find that if I don’t at least try to do something proactive I end up in a cycle of just feeling down and tired constantly. I mean, if I’m going to have a nap in the afternoon,  I want to have at least done something to earn it.

1- Eat properly.
I feel like this is a major point to make. When you’re feeling crap, it is tempting to eat crappy junky comfort food, but all those fats and carbs will just end up making you feel yucky. Make an effort to have lots of water and get you 5-7 portions of fruit and vegetables. An extra biscuit or piece of chocolate with a cup of tea won’t ruin you either.

2- Get dressed.
Just because you are going to be spending the whole day on your own curled up on sofa with Netflix doesn’t mean that you should stay in your pyjamas. Have a wash, put of some clean but comfy clothes and you’ll probably feel a bit better. Remember to congratulate yourself for getting up and dressed too. I know some days even that feels like an impossible task.

3- Fresh air.
Sometimes this is easier said than done but since you’ve managed to get yourself up and dressed, putting your shoes on and going for a quick walk outside wouldn’t be such a bad idea. If you don’t think you’re up to walking out on your own, call a friend up and see if they’d like to meet you for a cuppa or sit outside on your front or back step for 10 mins. Leave your phone inside and just relax and breathe in that freshness.

4- Do something fun.
Do you have a hobby or pastime that helps you unwind or a list of crafty things you want to try? Why not give it a go? I like to go through old magazines and cut out articles and photographs that I can use for scrapbooking. Once I’m done it also means I can then recycle the magazines I’ve been storing for a few months (double win). I’d suggest to stay away from screen based hobbies like gaming. I feel that too much screen time can make me feel worse. Pick something that has a clear ‘finish’ so that once you’re done, you can admire your work and get that great feeling of accomplishment. (I’d also recommend baking, it’s fun and there’s normally tasty cake at the end).

5- Be Kind.
Mostly to yourself. Don’t get mad if you can’t do everything you want to do. Make sure you acknowledge what you’ve managed to achieve even if all you did was put on clean underwear and sweat pants. Go you! Also, remember to be kind to those around you who try to help. It can be difficult for friends and loved ones to see you feeling so rubbish. They will want to help, even if they can’t. Let them know that you appreciate them and that they are helping just by being there for you.

I hope this helps,
Peace and love,
Tyveloser
xoxo

Leave a Reply

